East and West Godavari refractory manufactuirng cluster (Andhra Pradesh)


A cluster of about 26 MSME refractory manufacturing units is located in the East & West Godavari districts of Andhra Pradesh. About 19 units are in East Godavari (Rajahmundry, Morampudi, and Dhavaleswaram) and 7 in West Godavari (Chebrolu, Bhimdole, Dwarka Tirumala, Timmaya and Palem Road). The cluster manufactures about 62,530 tonnes of refractory products annually, and provides regular employment to more than 300 people. Almost all the units use downdraft (DD) kilns for the refractory manufacturing process.

Products manufactured

Refractories of various kinds (blocks, bricks, castables, etc.) for use in high-temperature applications

Number of MSMEs


Energy consumption


Main fuels

Coal, electricity

Production & turnover

62,530 tpa; Rs 36 crores (360 million)

Total energy consumption (toe)

9940 toe (coal—9882 toe; electricity—58 toe)

Leading industry association(s)

  • The Ceramic Manufacturers Welfare Association (East Godavari)
  • Dwaraka Tirumala Association (West Godavari)

Cluster profile

http://sameeeksha.org/pdf/clusterprofile/East & West Godavari Cluster Profile.pdf

Other resources

Source: Data pertains to 2019–20, collected primarily under the BEE project ‘Energy and Resource Mapping of MSME Clusters’.

Subscribe for SAMEEEKSHA Newsletter

Can't read the image? click here to refresh
Secretary - SAMEEEKSHA, Industrial Energy Efficiency Division,
TERI, Darbari Seth Block, IHC Complex, Lodhi Road, New Delhi 110 003, India
Tel: +91 11 2468 2100, 2468 2111 | Email: sameeeksha@teri.res.in